top of page

Nature Ponderings - May 2022

Updated: May 30, 2022






FOREWORD

As a lover of Nature, and an artist behind the lens, I feel compelled to record my day-to-day connections with my garden and open green spaces in my corner of the World. My premise is to create little stories of the discoveries and the changes I witness through the seasons, as I take my daily jaunt outside. Be sure to catch at the base of this post the little stories that people tell me along the way.


At the end of the year, I hope to create a visual epilogue of Nature's yearly cycle.




Gina

A pledgee of WildEast


Useful Links

 




DAY ONE - The sublime beauty of May.

1.5.2022


Lush green foliage spilling over

May is the most giving of months, and as I revisit the park after missing so much of it in April, I am greeted by the beautiful sight of lush green foliage spilling over, Canada Geese and Mallard chicks scurrying across the water as fast as their legs will take them to keep up with mum, and more bird song.


Bluebells have broken through, winding pathways have become more intriguing as the pathway ahead is obscured by the return of dense leaves. The ground is dry and in need of rain, yet only 3 weeks ago it was slippery underfoot.






Little Web-Footed Bundles

The Greylag Goslings have almost doubled in size since I first saw them 4 days ago, and another visitor of the Park told me that she had seen a Swan nesting, so I am going to keep a keen eye open for developments.







The Value of Conversation

This morning, my very dear friend, Brigitte of Moss and Stone Floral Design posted on Instagram how she had just heard the resident Cuckoo in her village and asked if anyone else has heard their call where they live. I replied saying that I had not yet heard our resident Cuckoo in the Park on my doorstep, and that I love its deep, welcoming call.


Someone on Brigitte's post mentioned how the Cuckoo only stays in the UK for a brief period, migrating mid-Summer. This intrigued me and so I immediately visited the RSPB website to discover more about this interesting Bird. I soon fell upon how the RSPB are working to help Nature's significant decline that a mere 15% of people are aware is a National Crisis.




The last 50 years have seen precipitous declines across all species, from wildflowers and insects to mammals and birds




From this tiny spark today, my desire to discover more about the inhabitants of our local Park has been ignited more than ever. If you wish to discover more, I have included some useful links at the base of this post.




Fond childhood memories of feeding Bread to Birds and Waterfowl ...

... little did I know that this is not good for Birds and Waterfowl.



Bread fills the Birds and Waterfowl up, but it lacks the nutrition found in other foods such a Seeds, Rice and Peas. Birds and Waterfowl can suffer from malnutrition, which can cause issues to their wings, that prevents them from flying. Un-eaten Bread can create harmful bacterial in the water, which causes harm to the life in it. It also attracts Vermin, such as Rats that can potentially spread deceases.





Greylag Goose [Anseriformes]. Found in Reed beds, marshes, estuaries & lakes. Diet: Plant material, incl.

roots, tubers, shoots, leaves, in water and on land. First record: Anglo Saxon Times.



My recently purchased Canon L-Series 100mm Macro f2.8 continues to surprise me.





A beautiful and brave Song Thrush scurried past me, looking for grubs, and if you zoom in on the photo above, you will see that he has one in its beak.


I discovered on the site of BBC Springwatch is famous for smashing open Snails. It is one of the earliest birds to start singing in the year in the UK.






As I neared the top of the Park toward Doctor's Lane, a Cat greeted me. I think he wanted to join in on my walk as he followed me for a while.



I usually capture this interesting tree, because I love its Canopy and twisted trunk.



Despite visiting the park most days, I still manage to discover new aspects of it to record with my camera or phone. These two images caught my eye either because of shape, interest or light. I'm seeing so much this way, in-place of looking for subject matter.






St Mark’s Fly [Bibio marci] - Male



On the last leg of my walk I discovered that it is named St Mark’s Fly, which are usually seen in Cornwall. This one is a Male, identified by its large eyes and clear wings. It is a mere 1cm in length.




Dried-up River side reeds



Tufted Duck [ Aythyia Fuligula] Drake left | Female right. Just fascinating.








DAY TWO - Muntjac Deer & Egret

2.5.2022



"We are ten strong"

I spied 10 Ducklings with their Mum, today; two more than yesterday!

As I watched-on, there was intermittent scurrying as though they were racing one another. It was quite comical to see, as though their incredibly light bodies had been blown across the water's surface.




Sitings:

Muntjac Deer

Mallard [Female] & ten Ducklings

Greylag Geese

Mute Swans

Common Pigeon


Canada Geese: [a pair]

Mallards





Greylag Geese telling me off for momentarily getting a little too close




Small diversion; new perspective

I love finding new perspectives in the park. Today, I took a new diversion along an extremely narrow route at the farthest side of the embankment. It used to be a more established shortcut across a small bridge over the water, but after multiple floods over the years, the bridge and original pathway no-longer exist.






I have not seen the Lake from this perspective for over 20 years. Originally, an evident pathway lead you to a small bridge, but it was removed after being permanently submerged due to the rise of the water level.





Resident Cormorant flying back to perch on the tree nearest to the water's edge of the Peninsular, after a quick circle of the Lake. A regular occurrence throughout the day.




This pair of Mallards amongst many others were perpetually turning upside down with heads in the water to feed. I can't recall seeing so many Ducks do this before; I must have caught them at the right time in the day to witness this.









DAY THREE - Coot with Chic

3.5.2022









As I passed by one of my favourite woodland pathways I spied what appeared to be solitary leaves dotted around in the ground that resembled Hosta leaves. I know not what they are!




Resident Cormorant flying back to perch on the Peninsular's Willow Tree after a quick circle of the Lake; a regular occurrence throughout the day. If you look closely in the distance, a Heron is resting in the centre of the Tree to the right of the Willow Tree.









DAY FOUR - Swans & Swifts in Flight

4.5.2022 - Evening




It was a fleeting visit to the park this evening, so very few images to post, but nonetheless, some beautiful experiences. Swans and Swifts in Flight. A young women fed the Swans and Geese some Vegetables, that I discovered after chatting with her that this is a daily, evening occurrence. Swans circling the Main Lake before settling for the evening. Two Swans nesting and Heron came to say hello.




I counted the number of Greylag Goslings this evening. One female has 5 Goslings the size of a large hand, and the other female has 6 Goslings approximately a third the size.
















DAY FIVE - Butterflies

5.5.2022 - a quick, mid-morning, jaunt

... to see if there were any developments with either of the two nesting Swans. No hatchings yet!

However, when I visited the park in the evening I spied 6 Cygnets on the Main Lake with their parents.

The female stayed close to the Peninsula with her babies whilst the Male Swan swam across the Lake.








DAY SEVEN - Cynets and Parents on the Lake

7.5.2022 - a fleeting, mid-morning, and evening jaunt.



The pair of Cormorants circled the lake a few times before perching back on the shoreline tree of the Peninsular. They were close enough for me to discover that the female has a white underside and the male is completely black.










DAY EIGHT - Butterflies

8.5.2022 - quick, mid-morning, and evening jaunts

... starting from the embankment of the main lake to the upper tiny lake. It was a glorious morning, filled with sunlight and a pleasant 15 degrees.
































DAY NINE - Butterflies

9.5.2022 - a flask of Porridge in my Rucksack

... I had the notion a couple of days ago that it would be wonderful to enjoy breakfast by the Lake, so after receiving a Thermos Flask for food yesterday, I made myself a portion of Porridge and headed to the Park for my usual jaunt, then sat to take in this morning's 'goings-on' whilst I ate breakfast. A delightful change to eating in my garden, weather permitting of course!





Swan and Cygnets Update


The pair Mute Swans and their Cygnets that reside on the Main Lake were resting across the lake on a tiny peninsular, and mostly hidden by reeds. I could not see their Cygnets to see if they still had 6, or that I had counted 5 correctly last night. I do hope they have not lost one of their fluffy bundles. I'll visit again this evening to check-in on them.


When I reached the upper, tiny lake next to the small bridge and stepping stones, they were being fed by a couple of women and a little boy. It was lovely to see that they were not feeding Bread, but food more appropriate for Waterfowl. The Swans and their Cygnets were at ease being so close to the lake edge, so I slowly walked a little closer to record the following iPhone videos.









DAY TEN - We're doing fine

10.5.2022 - Greylag Goslings are growing up fast and looking mighty strong this morning.

... and the Swans on the very small top lake by the stepping stones still have their 4 fluffy Cygnets.

The Swans on the Main Lake were at the upper end again, so I was not able to see if they still have 6 Cygnets.











Spot of luck, the pair of Swans on the Main Lake came all the way across the lake right up close to me.

Initially they were feeding on reeds from underneath the water, but as they got closer, they made a B-line for me. I guess the assumption was that I had something to feed them. Nonetheless, I was a incredible experience, with only me that witnessed it, so all the more special.


I was delighted to see that they still have all 6 Cygnets, but saddened to discover from someone this evening, that the four Cynets on the small upper lake our now 3. The Cynet was seen dead on the little bridge, then a Crow swooped down, then grabbed it and took it away. Sad, but that is Nature.















I could sense something looking at me, after taking the photo the the Greylag Geese and their Goslings on the water, and when I looked to my left, this Greylag was stood approximately 4 feet away from me, and remained for some time. I apologised that I had nothing to feed it.








DAY ELEVEN - Alice, Ross and a Swan

11.5.2022 - The rain has cleared as I head outdoors, camera and Monoculars in hand.


... but I didn't get to use them for it turned into a rather unusual, but incredible evening.


Last week I made the acquaintance of a lovely young women that was feeding the Swans and other waterfowl. She told me that she usually comes to the Lake most days, and that she loves Swans.


This evening, Alice was with her partner, Ross, whom I had met for the first time last week, and her mother. They each had a blanket, and Alice told me that they were going to attempt to take the Swan to a Sanctuary that had agreed to take it in. They very calmly and efficiently picked up the Swan after distracting it with food, then wrapped it in the blankets. To our astonishment, it remained calm. I was so impressed.




iPhone captures






DAY TWELVE - A peaceful evening, virtually all to myself

12.5.2022 - The Sun popped out, and transformed the evening into a rather lovely one.


All was quiet and very little taking place on the main lake, so I took a walk up to the small lake by the stepping stones, to see the pair of Mute Swans with their 3 surviving Cygnets, when one of the Cormorants had settled.













DAY FOURTEEN - Main lake Swan & Cygnets visit

14.5.2022


Sadly, the Cygnets on the Main Lake are down from six to five. It was a quiet evening, and as I approached the water's edge, the Swans and their tribe slowly but surely meandered over to me. A completely new and thrilling experience for me. The more I visit the park, the more I become enamoured by it and the life in it.





Sitings:

Mute Swans: a pair & five Cygnets [Main Lake]

Greylag Geese: a nursery of three adults & ten Goslings [they appear to have lost one], and two adults & five Goslings

Canada Geese: a pair & five Goslings - first siting

Mallards: a pair & three Ducklings [at the beginning of the month they had ten Ducklings]







iPhone Capture of a fleeting moment as I spied the Canada Geese and their five Goslings for the first time








DAY FIFTEEN - A super bright sunny morning

15.5.2022


Greylag Goslings are growing up fast and looking mighty strong this morning.

Another quiet visit, but this time, there were very few people enjoying the park. The male Swan on the main lake was being fed by a family, and as I arrived the its mate and their 6 Cygnets swam over. Their necks have grown longer, and they are more confident in the water and on land


... and the Swans on the very small top lake by the stepping stones are down to 3 Cygnets.





Sitings:

Main Lake one pair of Mute Swans & five Cygnets. Upper Lake by the stepping stones, one pair of Mute Swans & three Cygnets

One pair of Canada Geese & five Goslings

Two pairs of Greylag Geese & eleven Goslings

One pair of Mallards & five Chics






















DAY SIXTEEN - A late evening visit to the park

16.5.2022

I was eager to see the five new Goslings of the Canada Geese that seem to reside in the small over-flow lake next to the Main Lake. I managed a quick snap from afar, as during their early days, the parents can become stressed if a potential threat comes too near.
















DAY SEVENTEEN - Five more Goslings!

17.5.2022

The aromas in the park were really noticeable today. The warm weather intensified the smell of the earth, the flower meadows, the water of the lake, and the grass. I closed my eyes to give focus to this moment.



As I walked to the overspill lake, things appeared quiet. Only one Mute Swan was at the front, closest to the main pathway, but then as I stood for a while to savour the visit, Greylag Geese and Canada Geese took to the water at the farthest end of the lake, and swan across the lake like a fleet of ships. To my delight, I could see that another pair of Greylags with five very young Goslings.





Sitings:

Mute Swans: a pair & five Cygnets

Greylag Geese: a nursery of three adults & ten Goslings [they appear to have lost one], and two adults & five Goslings

Canada Geese: a pair & five Goslings

Mallards: a pair & three Ducklings [at the beginning of the month they were ten Ducklings]















RSPB ' Save our Swifts


They’ve screamed us into summer for millennia – but now they’re vanishing from our skies.

However, communities across the UK are coming together and helping to increase populations in their area and helping the RSPB to understand numbers through sitings.











DAY EIGHTEEN - Tears over Nature

18.5.2022

I cried today. As I arrived at the overspill lake, I noticed a Crow feeding on a Canada Geese Gosling. It was so sad. I feel so connected with all the the Wildfowl in the park. It is a very natural thing, after all, it is Nature, but still I felt for its parents. I felt a sense of loss.







Sitings:

Mute Swans: a pair & five Cygnets

Greylag Geese: a nursery of three adults & ten Goslings [they appear to have lost one], and two adults & five Goslings

Canada Geese: a pair & now four Goslings after losing one to a Crow

Mallards: a pair & three Ducklings [at the beginning of the month they were ten Ducklings]






The embankment is thriving with wild Flora and Forna. When Nature is left to do its own thing, she is miraculous. Habitats such as this, and across the World, help to improve Biodiversity.





Biodiversity is declining at a faster rate than at any time in human history

Biodiversity and well-functioning ecosystems are critical for human existence, economic prosperity, and a good quality of life. They play an important role in providing food, energy, shelter and medicines; sustaining water and soil quality; regulating the Earth’s climate; and providing opportunities for recreation, recuperation and inspiration.1 For many people nature also has deep intrinsic value itself. And yet, measures show biodiversity is declining at a faster rate than at any time in human history.


[publications.parliament.uk. (n.d.). Biodiversity in the UK: bloom or bust? [online]

Available at: https://publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm5802/cmselect/cmenvaud/136/136-report.html.]









Binky

Today, I met Binky, a young dwarf Rabbit. He was enjoying the views and the abundance of feed provided by his owner, as his owner exercised and chatted to me about his love of the Park.








DAY TWENTY TWO - Eurasian Collared Doves

22.5.2022

This evening I spied three Eurasian Collared Doves. As they flew from a neighbours rooftop to the trees in the Park, they cooed to one another. I didn't recognise the Doves, until researching on Google, and thought I had perhaps found a rare find. They look beautiful and their purr is beautiful. However, it turns out that they are classed as invasive due to the numbers in other countries and are considered to be pests as they carry decease.



Image source: https://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Eurasian_Collared-Dove/photo-gallery/66035081







DAY TWENTY THREE - Heron fishing for his dinner

23.5.2022

I was so engrossed in watching the Heron fishing that I didn't notice the black clouds coming!

I managed a very limited number of captures, before racing home. It pored down with rain, literally 10 minutes after walking through the front door.




iPhone captures today.

There is so much Yellow Iris next to the shores of the lake. Wonderful to see.



Sitings:

Mute Swans: a pair & four Cygnets [Main Lake], a pair & three Cygnets [Upper Lake by the stepping stones]

Mallards: a pair & three Ducklings [at the beginning of the month they were ten Ducklings]

Tiny Blue Dragonflies: five

Red Kite: flying over the Upper Lake

Heron: one [Peninsula of Main Lake], and one fishing [Upper small Lake]






DAY TWENTY FOUR - Lovely evening light

24.5.2022





Heron, one of a pair, making its way down the brook from the upper tiny lake to the main lake












The nursery of Greylags were forced to enter the water after an unleashed dog ran with it owner from the embankment









DAY TWENTY EIGHT - The Greylags are huge!

28.5.2022


Initially, when I looked over to the Nursery of Goslings, I didn't recognise the larger family of Goslings, I thought they were new visitors to the Park, but after looking through my Monoculars, I could see that they were in fact the four eldest Goslings of the Nursery. I am utterly astounded by their growth rate.




iPhone captures today


























DAY THIRTY - New sitings

30.5.2022



Left - Bombus lucorum, the white-tailed bumblebee. Right - Oedemera nobilis, also known as the false oil beetle




Giant Hogweed



Common Chaffinch


Cormorant, one of a pair.






















Acquaintances and their stories


Most days, as I stop to drink in Nature in the Park, people stop for a while with me and share their stories about their love for the Park. They talk with passion, and I love that they impart with me some intimate snippets of their experiences of the park.



Tony and his dog


A short while into my walk, as I stopped on the embankment to look across to the main lake, a gentleman with his dog stopped to say hello. He shared with me that he had lived in the area for many years and visits the park nearly every day.


As we looked across the lake at the pair of Mute Swans and their Cygnets, he told me that the Male Swan had been a resident of the Lake for many years and was a complete bully to all of the other Swans. We shared our experiences of our sitings and that most visiting dog walkers are blissfully unaware of the disruption their dogs cause when not on a lead, as they ver off the park toward the resting Greylag Geese and their Goslings forcing them to go into the water, where then the Swans bully them. As a result of this happening the other day, the Goslings had to ward-off a Swan that was giving them a hard time.


He went on to tell me how, during his younger years, he would catch the train to Skegness, and that it would travel through the park via the train track embankment, that went past the village of Scalford, a beautiful neighbouring village that I know and love.





Kenneth and his camera


Ken, came up to me as I sat near the embankment. He had a camera in hand and after saying hello, he started to tell me about his camera and its versatility. It was lovely to hear that Ken frequents the park regularly and gets so much pleasure from capturing the Lakes wildlife. A few days later, I met his wife, Jen too as they were taking their daily walk in the park.





Alice and Ross


A few minutes later, I bumped into Alice, who I had first met 3 days ago; she was with her partner Ross. They were making their way to the embankment area to observe the other pair of Mute Swans and their Goslings. They paused for some time for a chat, and Ross immediately told me that Alice had been telling him that she has found a Swan Friend in me. They told me that the eggs must have hatched a few days ago for the Mute Swans at the small lake as they had just seen them on the water. They believed they saw 4 chics. It was then that Ross told me that Alice loves Swans.





Martin & his dog Moo


Lives in Waltham, but drives over to the Country Park frequently. Telling me about what he sees in the Park and how he loves it.





Simon & his dog Ollie



Judy & Thomas









 


Species sitings this month


 





by Gina Dover-Jaques








 

REFERENCE:

[publications.parliament.uk. (n.d.). Biodiversity in the UK: bloom or bust? [online]

Available at: https://publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm5802/cmselect/cmenvaud/136/136-report.html.]






152 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page